What are the notes of the E Lydian scale?

The E Lydian scale is a type of musical scale that belongs to the family of Lydian modes, one of the seven musical modes derived from the major scale. The Lydian mode is similar to the major scale but with a raised fourth. In the case of the E Lydian scale, it is based on the E major scale with the fourth note raised by a half step. Here are the notes of the E Lydian scale:

  1. E
  2. F#
  3. G#
  4. A#
  5. B
  6. C#
  7. D#
  8. E

In this scale, the A# is the raised fourth note, which differentiates it from the standard E major scale, where the fourth note would be A natural. The characteristic raised fourth gives the Lydian mode its unique, bright, and somewhat unresolved sound, making it a favorite among composers and improvisers for its uplifting and ethereal quality.

The E Lydian scale has 5 sharps. These sharps are on the notes F#, G#, A#, C#, and D#. The E Lydian mode is derived from the B major scale, which also has 5 sharps, but with a different root note, emphasizing the characteristic raised fourth (A# in this case) that defines the Lydian mode.


You should also read:

Musical Notes and Pitches

Music theory is a vast field that encompasses various concepts, principles, and practices related to the creation, analysis, and performance of music. Within…